The Age Old Quest/ion

Lately, I have been pretty on edge. I am turning 26.

I am am finally starting to feel like a grown up…Sort of.

I literally feel like my roots are taking place and settling in…I have my own ideas and ways I want to live. I have a feeling that every year I’ll feel that way. I am finishing gradschool this year. Now I have to start career building. I could’ve been almost done with Law School at this point. Did I make a bad choice? Why do I feel that I am not yet ready — but I am so behind? By 26 shouldn’t I be…somewhere else?

Everyone around me is making babies and making monies.

To compare yourself is a set up for constant failure and disappointment  But I cannot help to think…did I miss something here? I don’t feel ready to bring life into this world. Although baby pictures make me cry and wonder why I don’t have one of my own.

I am not anywhere near what the “American Dream” as led me to believe I was chasing andtrying to achieve. I am addicted to TV and sugar. And I buy frappacinos on a whim and soulfully regret my wasted $6 and empty calories. I yearn to look like me when I was the cutest little thang out there. However, I am just treading water, trying to stay afloat and stay sane…stay content. Is that such a sin? Yes, I want more.

Damn you, America.

At least I am helping people. When DO we grow up?

(I still feel like I am 22.)

About inmyroots

Aspiring Success. https://inmyroots.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Literature Essay, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Age Old Quest/ion

  1. jaynefranks says:

    Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional. Live your life not yours by doing and comparing yours with others. Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

